A Victoria rink won the B event this morning at the Provincial Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships in Quesnel.

The Jason Montgomery foursome earned a spot in the playoffs with a 10-5 victory over Dean Joanisse.

Montgomery broke open a close game with steals of three in the 5th end and two more in the 6th.

He will now meet 7-time BC Champion Jim Cotter in the 1-2 game of the page playoff system tomorrow morning.

The defending BC men’s champion is now out of the bonspiel.

Sean Geall’s Abbotsford team lost 7-2 this morning to Matthew Blandford of Victoria.

Blandford advances to one of two C event finals against the winner of a game in this afternoon’s draw between the three-time Canadian Junior champion Tyler Tardi rink and Josh Barry from the Golden Ears Winter Club in Maple Ridge.

On the ladies side of the draw, the Brett Richards rink from Prince George/Kelowna/Victoria, scored 4 in the 9th end and went on to post a 10-7 victory today over Kim Slattery of Vernon.

Richards improved to 4-2 and is tied for second place with one draw left in the round robin.

Sarah Wark of Abbotsford is in first place at 5-1.